University of South Wales Students' Union

SU By-Elections 2022


From the 19th of September, nominations will be open in the SU by-elections to become members of our executive officer team. Simply follow and click on the 3 easy steps below. The deadline for this to be completed is 3rd October 2022 at 1 pm.


What are Elections?

Elections are democratic processes where you, as students get a say in who leads you within the Students’ Union. As an organisation run by students, the Students’ Union holds elections to ensure that students are at the heart of what we do.

Students can run for two roles in the SU 2022 Autumn By-elections: Welfare VP (On either a full-time or part-time basis) and the Chair of Student Voice Forum (open to previous SVRs only).


The roles available are:

Welfare Officer – Executive Officer (Offered in either a Full-time or part-time capacity)*

The Welfare Officer works to ensure that the welfare and well-being of students are effectively represented. They undertake campaigns which improve the quality of student welfare for all students regardless of background.

You can read more about the role here


*Undertaking this role full-time will require students to take a sabbatical leave from their studies for the duration of the term unless they are research students. Undertaking this role part-time can be done alongside your studies.


Chair of Student Voice Forum (SVF) – This role is only open to students who have previously been SVRs for a full term.

The Chair of Student Voice Forum is a new role which will undertake a leadership role amongst the Student Voice Representatives, being the designated chair of Student Voice Forum. They also sit on the Union Executive and the University’s Learning and Teaching Enhancement Committee.

You can read more about the role here.



How can I get involved?

Students wanting to get more involved in the running of the Students’ Union and make a difference in the student experience, then stand in the by-election to make a real difference in the student experience!


Nominations are open from September 19th and close on October 3rd. Voting for candidates will be held on the 11th of October. To run in the election, you will need to:


  1. Make sure you read the Standing Orders, Articles of Association and By-election regulations under Election Resources.
  2. Complete the 'I want to stand' form.
  3. If running for the Welfare VP role, complete the Trustee Declaration
  4. Have a mate nominate you [here]
  5. Get 10 students to second your nomination by filling out this [form]
  6. Complete the 'My Campaign Team is..' form. (If you do not complete this, then your nominator and supporters will be assumed to be your campaign team).
  7. Submit your manifesto and a picture to 



Submitting a manifesto and picture:

Your manifesto and pictures are your opportunity to show students why you would be perfect for the role through your personal qualities and experience.

Your manifesto should be a maximum of 500 words and tell students the following:

  • Who you are and why you are running
  • What experience do you have that will help you in your role
  • Your top 3 qualities that make you best suited for the position


Not interested in a role?

If you are a student but don’t feel like running for a position, then you can still get involved by voting in the elections, it gives our student officers more mandate to lobby the university on your behalf. It is important to not only support your favourite candidate but also make your vote count!

Who can I ask for more information?

The Student Voice Team are on hand to answer any queries relating to the By-elections. Email Ellis, the Student Representation Manager via: with any queries.